Akufo-Addo Retained as ECOWAS Chair

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has, for the second time, elected President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo as its Chairman.
The re-election of the Ghanaian President by the ECOWAS was announced in a communique issued at the end of a recent video conference the heads of states of the Community, held on February 2, 2021.
During that session, the heads of states decided by consensus that President Akufo-Addo would continue as ECOWAS Chairman for another year.
He was first elected on September 7, 2020 to serve a one-year mandate as ECOWAS Chair.
He succeeded Niger President Mahamadou Issoufou, who was elected on June 29, 2019.
The President has been mandated to oversee the implementation of institutional reforms relating to enhanced financial management and internal control of the institution.
“To this end, the Authority calls on H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana, with the support of the Ministerial Ad hoc Committee on Institutional Reform, to lead reflection on the issue.
“A report on this point will be submitted to the Ordinary Session of the Authority to be held in June 2021. To that effect, a general consensus emerged from the heads of states and governments that H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo continue for a second term as Chair of the ECOWAS to oversee the implementation of the Reform,” the communique added.
The statement that announced the renewal of his mandate, also expressed the sincere appreciation of the Heads of States of the Authority to “H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, for his leadership in steering the affairs of the Community.”
Chaired by President Akufo-Addo, the session was in preparation for the 34th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the African Union on the election of the new management team of the African Union Commission.
According to the communiqué, the Heads of States and governments took note of the memorandum on the selection of the Chairperson of the African Union for the 2022-2023 period, and the proposed mechanism for the nomination of countries in the coming years.
They also took note of the report of the ECOWAS Council of Ministers on the harmonisation of Member States’ applications for positions in international organisations. Lastly, the Heads of States and governments took note of the memorandum on the implementation of the ECOWAS institutional reform.
Present at the summit were 14 ECOWAS Heads of States, namely; Roch Marc Christian Kabore, President of Burkina Faso, Jorge Carlos de Almeida Fonseca, President of the Republic of Cape Verde, Alassane Ouattara, President of the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana, Prof. Alpha Conde, President of the Republic of Guinea, Umaro Sissoco Embalo, President of the Republic of Guinea Bissau, and Georges Manneh Weah, President of the Republic of Liberia.
Established in 1975, ECOWAS is a regional group for promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the members.
The 15 members of ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Leave a Reply

Share via
Chat With Us
Welcome to Ghana NewsWatch. If you would like to submit a story for publication, please go to https://ghananewswatch.com/submit-post/. Otherwise, how can I help you today?
Customer Service RepKelly S.WhatsApp
Send this to a friend